RSS

“Why e-Books Will Be Much Bigger Than You Can Imagine”

25 Feb

Photo Trey Ratcliff http://www.stuckincustoms.com


.
Just found this sometimes hilarious story on an internet blog by Trey Ratcliff:

“I am sitting there in a nice restaurant in San Francisco with all these executives of a major publishing house. It’s one of these power dinners of lore. We are to discuss the upcoming launch of my book, and I’ll never forget what happened. They asked me, “OK, Trey, what are you going to do to market this book?”  You could have knocked me over with a feather. My young publishing life flashed in front of my eyes…

I ended up putting together a robust launch campaign. Luckily I already had hundreds of thousands of people who came to the blog every month, a healthy Twitter following (this is before Google+) and a great network of people to help.

I did everything, including:

  • Put together a limited-edition print along with a signed copy of the book for early orders. This required me to warehouse the book with a third party, pay for massive shipping, and have a ping-pong table covered in books for two weeks while I signed all of them along with the prints, etc.
  • Organize a book tour (at my own expense) to hit several big cities like New York and Chicago.
  • Blog and tweet about it on countless occasions.
  • Sneak into hundreds of Barnes & Nobles, secretly sign my books, then tweet out the location so a little flash mob would appear to get the special signed version. (BTW, this got me thrown out of at least three bookstores by short-sighted managers.)

The book came out and did amazing. It sold out on Amazon in the US, UK, Canada and Australia. It takes a lot to sell out a book on Amazon! The book was reprinted and moved into the black within the first quarter.”

Read more: “Why e-books will be much bigger than you can imagine” (well, IF you do the marketing…)  by Trey Ratcliff, his own website is http://www.stuckincustoms.com/trey-ratcliff/

Not only a writer, teacher, landscape photographer, film maker and photo teacher, here a glimpse into his HDR photo teaching.  Even the Smithsonian Museum in Washington DC shows his work!

.

.
Hyper Smash

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to ““Why e-Books Will Be Much Bigger Than You Can Imagine”

  1. Stephen Desroches

    February 26, 2012 at 9:56 am

    Trey is a genius at internet marketing. He’s a very interesting writer.

     
  2. garmin golf gps courses list

    June 3, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to
    write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an email if interested. Kudos!

     
  3. walkie talkie For Business

    June 4, 2013 at 11:04 am

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog
    and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

     
  4. Click This Link

    June 5, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    Thanks in favor of sharing such a good thinking, paragraph is fastidious, thats why i have read it completely

     
  5. Rosario

    June 16, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    I love what you guys are up to. Such clever work as well as exposure!
    Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to
    my own blogroll.

     
  6. website

    June 24, 2013 at 5:02 am

    Hello there! I just would like to give you a big thumbs up for your great information you’ve got here on this post. I am coming back to your web site for more soon.

     
  7. bicicletas elipticas

    June 24, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog
    and excellent design and style.

     
  8. lose weight programs

    July 8, 2013 at 8:31 am

    Your style is unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from.
    I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this page.

     
  9. Heather

    October 30, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    I really consider this posting , “Why e-Books Will Be
    Much Bigger Than You Can Imagine | Savvy Writers & e-Books online”, relatively pleasurable and also it was in fact a remarkable
    read. Regards,Elton

     
  10. http://google.com/

    December 26, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    What’s up, after reading this amazing piece of writing i
    am as well happy to share my know-how here with friends.

     

Leave a comment