RSS

Interview with Author Jan Scarbrough

03 May

.

Kentucky Rain by Jan Scarbrough

Kentucky Rain by Jan Scarbrough

We have the pleasure to meet author Jan Scarbrough today, who just launched Kentucky Rain, the latest one of her seven Bluegrass Reunion series books.

Jan, how would you describe your book to someone who has not yet read it?

Kentucky Rain is part of my Bluegrass Reunion series for Resplendence Publishing. Each book in the Bluegrass Reunion series can stand alone, but each have similar themes—reunions, single moms, horses if I can fit them in—and all are set in Kentucky.

Is there a message in your book that you want your readers to grasp?

You can grow as a person even during the most troubling time of your life.

.
What inspired you to start writing?
A life-threatening illness when I was 38 convinced me that I needed to start making my dreams come true.
.

How did you get the idea for the novel?

Although I write about single moms, it’s taken me twenty years to be able to write a divorced heroine. Because of my own experiences, I wasn’t ready until now.  I like Kate because she deals with this situation many of us have dealt with, she grows, and she survives.
.

Does your book have any underlying theme, message, or moral?

Another person can’t make you happy. You have to do that for yourself.
.

Are your characters based on real people?

No, but my husband discovered our cat Folly in the book when he was reading it.
.

Who is your favorite character and why?

Kate, because she grows as a person and is wise enough to not depend upon a man to make her happy.
.

Give us an excerpted quote from your favorite review of this book:

“I am never disappointed by anything written by talented author Jan Scarbrough. Kentucky Rain, her latest ‘reunion’ story, is an emotionally satisfying read that has us rooting for Kate and Scott the whole way. We love them, hate Kate’s ex-husband, and enjoy her supporting cast. Highly recommended for everyone who loves a happily-ever-after ending.”
.

Jan Scarbrough

Jan Scarbrough


.
How much of the book is based on real life (either yours or someone you know)?

Considering a book from the first word you write to the moment you see it on a bookstore shelf, what’s your favorite part of the process? What’s your least favorite?
.

How did you get published? Please share your own personal journey.

It took eight years. I heard from another writer about an opportunity at a major publisher that was looking for 50,000 word completed romances. I cut out 35,000 words from my manuscript, touched it up, and submitted it.
.

What do you find is the best part of being an author?

Recently, during my riding lesson, I rode a very expensive, five-gaited American Saddlebred horse. This horse is a champion, but now retired from showing and in a lesson program. The mare was professional. Her gaits were smooth. She was responsive and game. It was like riding a dream. I said to myself that I’ll never be able to afford a horse like this. But my characters can. I can create characters who live out my dreams. I can create heroines who are stronger and spunkier than I am. In short, I can make my stories into the world of my dreams.
.

What’s one thing that your readers would be surprised to know about you?

I take a riding lesson once a week on an American Saddlebred horse to get my weekly “horse fix.”
.
Where can readers learn more about your book series?

Bluegrass Reunion Series book trailer on YouTube:

If you would like to be interviewed and to get help in all things publishing, have your book heavily promoted and learn how to navigate social media sites:  We offer all this and more for only a “token” of $1 / day for 3 months. Learn more about this individual book marketing help: http://www.111Publishing.com/seminar

Please feel free to check out all previous posts of this blog (there are more than 730 of them : ) if you haven’t already. Why not sign up to receive them regularly by email? Just click on “Follow” in the upper line on each page – and then on “LIKE” next to it. There is also the “SHARE” button underneath each article where you can submit the article to Pinterest, Google+, Twitter, Chime.in, Facebook, Tumblr and StumpleUpon.

Thanks a lot for following:

@111publishing

http://on.fb.me/TvqDaK
http://bit.ly/VmtVAS 111Publishing @ Google+

.

.
Hyper Smash

Pingates

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
