RSS

Author Interview: Lawrence Winkler

14 Apr

.
In 1980, a maverick young doctor gave it all up, to hitchhike around the world. He wrote four books about his experience, which I personally find some of the best travel literature, even topping my former favorite, Bill Bryson.

.

Lawrence Winkler

Lawrence Winkler

His name is Dr. Lawrence Winkler, now a medical professor on Vancouver Island, Canada, from whom you would not expect sentences like these:
.
“Tip the world on one side & everything loose will land in Los Angeles”,
.
“We honed the fine art of stuffing a Falafel, so a dollar could last all day” or
.
“If you want to sell your whisky to buy hashish, I may be of service, he said…”
.
I really love to read his books and have the honor today to interview him.

 .

Lawrence, what inspired you to start writing?
I had promised my father that I would someday write a book about my hitchhiking trip around the world. He was a pillar, a good man, and not quite convinced that my wanderlust was anything other than a selfish indulgence.  Unfortunately, he died before I finally began typing the story. My writing was initially an exercise in legitimization. But then I discovered that I had entered a new universe, which was not only wonderfully fulfilling, it was fun.
.
How would you describe your books to someone who has not yet read them?
The most fascinating books I’ve read have always been narratives that were alive on many different levels. So far I have written two kinds of books. The first, ‘Westwood Lake Chronicles’ is a dreamscape diary of our deliberate attempt to live with nature, under the inexorable development pressures of the exploding population around us. The second set of books, a quadrilogy of a five year hitchhiking trip around the world in the 1980’s, is an attempt to present the world, as close to the ground as I found it, as an odyssey that defined my identity and destiny. I believe I have written the consummate epic travelogue, like no other you will ever read.
.

Westwood Lake

.
Is there a message in your books that you want your readers to grasp?
I would like my readers to see the fine interconnection of many aspects of life that they may not have previously understood to have any connection at all. I want them to see how complex, sophisticated and intricate, and yet how simple, the richness of this experience is. I hope to inspire them to see the little details as the great whole, and how the quantum is related to the cosmic, how the tragic and comic duality of our short existence is the source of how deep and wide we can live.
.
Are your characters based on real people?
Oh, yeah. But I hope they don’t notice, and I will deny it, if anyone else does.
.
Who is your favorite character and why?
Tough one. Steve of the Jacuzzi is an archetype, and still a best friend. Gold Tooth was comical, Hair Trigger Ray dangerous and tragic, Mike and Mike were Doonesburyesque, and I never saw them again. Wayne the Rock was personified evil, Harold Broomberg and Mr. Godfrey saints, Mama Szlapak  an oracle, and they were just in Orion’s Cartwheel, the first book of the quadrilogy. But I loved Hungry Butterfly, the Japanese guy who escaped his father’s factory to travel in Eastern Europe, and found his own liberation. Hahahaha.
.
Between the Cartwheels

.
Are your plots based on your real-life experiences?
Absolutely.
.
Give us an excerpted quote from your favorite review of a book:
“Not a gulp-able book – it should be savored in sips.”
.
Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you have learned as a writer from then to now?
That it is always possible to do better, if you care enough to slow down, and take the time.
.
Considering a book from the first word you write to the moment you see it on a bookstore shelf, what’s your favorite part of the process? What’s your least favorite?
I actually have yet to see my words on a bookstore shelf, as I have yet to produce a physical print copy. My most favorite part of the creative process is seeing a large number of ideas separated by what I had thought were insurmountable barriers avalanche into a brilliant epiphany. My least favorite part of the creative process is, having to exclude the many other people and things I love about life, to concentrate my efforts on creating the circumstances for this to occur.
.
.
Hind Cartwheel.

What genre have you not yet written but really want to try?
Poetry. But not yet.
.
If your books would be made into a movie, who should play the main character?
Johnny Depp.
.
How did you get published? Please share your own personal journey.
Its a work in progress. I had an agent, but I think she was stuck in the headlights of the current revolution in publishing. So far, I’ve done it myself. I’d rather be writing than marketing, so I will likely look for a print publisher after I finish my current infatuation with ‘Stories of the Southern Sea.’ I’ve learned that there is a lot of published nonsense, even more unpublished brilliance, and a vast number of brilliant authors that were either discovered long after they departed this mortal coil, or never were discovered. For me, it’s not about the notoriety, it’s about the notation.
.

Orions Cartwheel

.
What do you find is the best part of being an author?
The perfect peaceful solitude in imprinting your thoughts on an otherwise uncaring universe, one irrevocable word at a time.
.
What’s one thing that your readers would be surprised to know about you?
How amazed I still continue to be at how amazing this journey still is.
.

Thank you so much for taking the time during your busy life and answering our questions!

Here is one more:
Where can people learn more about your writing and you as an author?  

http://www.lawrencewinkler.com

https://www.facebook.com/lawrencewinklerauthor

http://www.amazon.com/Lawrence-Winkler/e/B008UVGLM2/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

http://bit.ly/Yn6LsB   (short link to Dr. Lawrence Winkler’s books on Kobo)

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6460890.Lawrence_Winkler

https://twitter.com/LawrenceWinkler

http://pinterest.com/drwink/boards/

.
xTheFinalCartwheel_

.
.
.

<><><><><>
.

If you would like to get help in all things publishing, have your book heavily promoted and learn how to navigate social media sites: We offer all this and more for only a “token” of $1 / day for 3 months. Learn more about this individual book marketing help: http://www.111Publishing.com/seminar

If you enjoyed this blog post, please feel free to check out all previous posts of this blog (there are more than 710 of them : ) if you haven’t already. Why not sign up to receive them regularly by email? Just click on “Follow” in the upper line on each page – and then click on “LIKE” next to it. There is also the “SHARE” button underneath each article where you can submit the article to Pinterest, Google+, Twitter, Chime.in, Facebook, Tumblr and StumpleUpon.

Thanks a lot for following:

@111publishing

http://on.fb.me/TvqDaK
http://bit.ly/VmtVAS 111Publishing @ Google+

.

.
Hyper Smash
.
.

Pingates

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
