RSS

Perils of e-Book Publishing

22 Feb


Our annual Christmas letter to family and old friends had big news wrapped inside the good wishes. “Ho, ho, ho, Margaret is entering the revolutionary post-Gutenberg world by publishing an e-book!”

Margaret Kell Virany

Margaret Kell Virany

They all knew my parents’ romantic story and had lavished praise on the print version. I couched this as a genuine seasonal message but must confess visions of five stars beside my title in the sales catalog were dancing on a hidden agenda inside my head!

My connections are not pushovers; they are mostly hardy, elderly folks, not intimidated by Amazons and they expect to get into heaven without a password. Still, I needed to line up reviewers even before my book was published so I made a polite suggestion and gave simple instructions on ‘how to submit a review to Amazon’ in a straightforward way.

Two months later my book is in the hands of 4,593 readers who likely made their final decision after they saw the 4+ star ratings. The Internet-savvy on my list (a niece, a second cousin-in-law once removed, a new friend and the 85-year old Wilderness Wanderer) immediately submitted five-star reviews.  Several octogenarian college friends, one of them almost blind, struggled or got help but managed to do me this favor.

  • R. called himself Accountant’s Vision, in case he made typos.
  • J-M invites her unemployed engineer son-in-law for breakfast every morning and is still hoping this will lead to a review-writing moment.
  • B. said she was glad she had friends who were keeping up with the Internet and thanked me for nudging her into the e-book era.
  • J. is so proud of her new skill she’s eager to do it again.

A Christmas letter requesting reviews may be a little out of order, but my friends who used it as a chance to update their brains found some joy.


Guest post by author Margaret Kell Virany
see her books at:
www.amazon.com/author/margaretvirany

or here:
www.margaretvirany.com

 

.

.

.

.

 

<a href=”http://www.hypersmash.com”>Hyper Smash</a>

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
