RSS

Seems I was not the only one who made this error

05 Oct

.

… as a newbie Twitter user @111publishing.  It took me almost two months to gain more than 500 followers after I reached this 2,000 following-limit.  I was totally surprised when I received the automated message. Well, I should have read the godd…. handbook.

.
One of the Twitter rules: Once you are following 2,000 tweeps you have to have 2,000 followers too, otherwise you have to wait until you are “even” before following more. Maybe this rule was invented to avoid spammers, which makes sense. Although most spam comes through Direct Messages (DM) as those companies just open a whole bunch of Twitter accounts.

Learning about the Twitter rules would have saved me a lot of time. When potential followers see that you have hit this wall, they know you will not follow them soon – and might even assume you will forget them once you are in balance with the amount of followers.

When I read this tweet today: “Another writer has hit Twitter’s notorious 2000 barrier: @……. She needs more followers before she can go on. Can you help her?”

OK. I was willing to help and clicked on follow, but then I was surprised to see that she barely re-tweeted any posts from others. Not a good thing would Martha say. Why not? Twitter is not an advertisement board. It is a social media network. For advertising go to craigslist, and don’t use Twitter!

Suggestions for success at Twitter:

1. Read the Twitter rules BEFORE you join
2. http://www.justunfollow.com those who do not follow you for a period of time, latest 1 month
3. More re-tweets! Twitter is social media, not advertisement board!

<><><><><>

.

If you enjoyed this blog post, please feel free to check out all previous posts (there are more than 520 of them : ) if you haven’t already. Why not sign up to receive them regularly by email? Just click on “Follow” in the upper line on each page – and then on “LIKE” next to it. There is also the “SHARE” button underneath each article where you can submit the article to Pinterest, Google+, Twitter, Tumblr and StumpleUpon.

Follow on Twitter: @111publishing

And don’t forget to spread the word on other social networking sites of your choice for other writers who might also enjoy this blog and find it useful. Thanks, Doris

.

.

Hyper Smash

Pingates

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Seems I was not the only one who made this error

  1. Elisa Cashiola

    October 5, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    ah, good to know. I didn’t realize this either…!

     
  2. Misha Gericke (@MishaMFB)

    February 27, 2013 at 7:25 am

    Oh yeah. I hit my head on this one too. But I used unfollow software to get rid of any people (except agents and publishers) who didn’t follow back. Also, it’s shocking to see how many follow just to get follow-backs, only to unfollow a few days later.

    Finally, I became pickier about who I let into my timeline. Authors are always welcome, but not if they spam my timeline.

    That way, I managed to cross 2000 again with more followers than I’m following. I’m keeping it this way, in case there’s a 4000 limit or something I don’t know about.

     
  3. Kathy Steinemann

    September 10, 2013 at 9:37 am

    “More re-tweets! Twitter is social media, not advertisement board!”

    That’s such an important tip. I hate feeds that contain nothing but self-promotional tweets.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,838 other followers

